Ruturaj Gaikwad has been unveiled as the new captain of Chennai Super Kings a day before the opening game of IPL 2024

This brings to an end MS Dhoni's long stint as captain of CSK - which began in the tournament's first season back in 2008

Dhoni captained CSK in 235 of their 249 games in all competitions, leading them to two titles in the defunct

Champions League T20 to go with the five IPL titles, in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021 and 2023.

With 1797 runs from 52 matches at an average of 39.06 and a strike rate of 135.52, Gaikwad is currently CSK's seventh-highest run-getter.

Among the first issues he is expected to handle as captain is deciding who he will open alongside, with his regular partner Devon Conway ruled out until May with a thumb injury